Unsunny Weekday

So last week, I had classes. This week, I also had classes, but there were other things happening as well!. Let’s just catch up, shall we?

Simon Cowell’s class was less daunting than last time. Mainly because I had the opportunity to read. Although, I will still say that UK students are still intense and intelligent as a knife. Religion: the Social and Political Contexts is actually starting to get fairly interesting. Last class we talked about modernity, but this past week we discussed religion and globalisation. It was pretty cool! This week was also the week that German Gender Politics finally started. I was really nervous for this class, mainly because it is only meant to be taken by 4th-year European Studies/German students. But my fears were quickly assuaged. First, because a girl sitting next to me talked with me, and she hoped that the class was not so much focused on “politics.” Second, the class is a politics class, and from what the professor mentioned, the European Studies department doesn’t have a lot of pure politics classes – which means that Religion AND International Relations-majored me will beat everyone. Lastly, we are going to talk about feminist theory next class.  Confucian Ethics was a tad dry this week, mainly because we are talking about Confucius’ life. CE better watch out, because German Gender Politics is slowly gaining steam to be my favourite class here.

Also, this past week, Cassi came into London. Cassi isn’t studying in London, rather, she will be in Cardiff studying at Cardiff University. She came to London for IFSA-Butler orientation. I was able to meet up with her and hang out (and get a free meal!). It was nice being with someone that I knew and didn’t have to feel awkward trying to interact with. I only wished I could have hung out with her for a longer period of time! We originally thought she was going to stay at the St. Giles, which is where I stayed at, but it turns out she went to some place in Bayswater which is quite a distance away from anywhere I was. But, I will say, I got to know the Tube system a thousand times better. I think I win because of that. :D

There were only two interesting things of note left from this week. First, I went to a couple research seminars – but, to be honest, I found them completely boring. One was about a man trying to isolate the Lord’s Prayer in Maricon (which is a gospel, from what I listened), and another was trying to explain the term “the Son of Man” in Palestinian Arameic, and from that, conjecture a new meaning of “Son of Man.” Again, they were dry, and I didn’t have the power to really retain any of it. Second, I went to the Museum of Methodism. I know, it sounds somewhat lame, but the religion geek in me was so excited. Erin Totten told me to visit it and take pictures (although, photography isn’t allowed – but I took some videos instead :P). Not only was there a museum of how Methodism arose in England, but also, I went into John Wesley’s house. Nonetheless pretty cool.

Oh yeah, and I haven’t made any friends yet. I weep. I keep forgetting to join societies while I am at the university. For some reason, my student ID doesn’t want to work for the online registration, so I have to sign up for things in person. Lame, I know. I’ll work on it next weep.

Lastly, I have said that I have like a billion pictures to put up. And I have even more, including videos! I will put them up soon, I promise! Next blog post, I will do it this weekend, and it will have all the pictures/videos/etc. And I’ll also be making more interesting posts like certain critical thinkings on London/modern art/any random thing. Don’t fret everyone. Realise, these couple posts are just the opening overture – soon we will have a grand display. ;)

(Title comes from the song “Sunny Sunday” by Chic Gamine.)

  1. #1 by cbfremder on 2 February 2011 - 11:41 PM

    I LOVE the fact that I’m mentioned in this. :D

    HOWEVER, you did forget to include the fact that we met by happenstance on the streets of London! (Well sort of..)

  2. #2 by andersonlondon on 3 February 2011 - 5:36 AM

    Ugh, I didn’t realise! Perhaps one of the best moments of my life: finding a friend right in the middle of a Londonian street. :P

  3. #3 by Meagan Musgrave on 6 February 2011 - 6:55 AM

    MICHAEL. YOU NEED TO MAKE FRIENDS. A GINGER FRIEND :)
    also. your blog is the most interesting one out of all the study abroad kids.
    yaaaay.

  4. #4 by andersonlondon on 6 February 2011 - 3:24 PM

    I TRY BUT IT IS SO HARD MEAGAN. GINGERS ARE A MINORITY HERE TOO!

    Haha, well, of course MINE is the most interesting. :P Kidding everyone else!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

