Last Tango in Shiloh

Right, so in approximately nine hours and 53 minutes, I will be on a plane to JFK Airport and then later, on the group flight to England. Excitement, nervousness, every-other-emotion-in-the-book abounds. Presently, I am writing this belated predeparture blog in the living room of friends; one of which is playing Mario Kart Wii while the others are elsewhere. I am not sure if I am supposed to give a pseudo-existential word vomit about how this is going to be an adventure of a lifetime that will utterly transform me and whatnot. I mean, it will be but I don’t care to talk about that yet.

Anyway, to give all readers the specifics: I am studying at King’s College London (in London, obviously) and will be living in Hampstead. I was told it is very posh. How posh? Well, let me tell you that Wikipedia says lots of famous people live there. +1 to Michael. I am taking courses in a couple different departments (which supposedly isn’t meant to be done for UK higher education, but whatever): Religion: Social and Political Contexts (Religion department), Confucian Ethics (again, Religion), German Gender Politics (European Studies department), and Chinese II (Language — but this has a special name that I cannot recall).

So, what else am I supposed to say? Oh, here are my goals:

  1. Go visit Lauren Cooper’s grave (I ain’t bovvered)
  2. Take a trip with Matt Smith in his TARDIS
  3. Skip around during the Prince’s wedding (this one is legit and actually do-able)
  4. Meet up with the ASBO 5
  5. I can add more colourful goals related to current British TV, but I won’t bore you with those details.

But in all seriousness, I learned that there is a Freud Museum (WHICH INCLUDES FREUD FINGERPUPPETS) and that I can listen to Judith Butler talk about Kafka and Israel. Jealous much? I would be.

By the way, packing was dreadful. Remember folks, you aren’t supposed to bring your life with you — even if you -really- would like to do so. Don’t let anyone fool you — I found this to be the most stressful part of the system. Mainly because I had to make sure I had all the forms I am supposed to bring (there was a conflict in the Anderson household between myself and the parentals regarding one form, it was angst-worthy).

I’m sorry that this entry is lame. I’m still in the States. I know, we are both weeping.

(Title comes from the 1972 film Last Tango in Paris)

  1. #1 by Amanda on 3 January 2011 - 8:13 PM

    1. Which form are you referring to? What happened? Sounds interesting and noteworthy indeed…
    2. Are you there? Are you safe? Is it pretty? Can you see the tower Wendy flew to??

    ~Sincerely, Amanda 🙂

  2. #2 by andersonlondon on 5 January 2011 - 12:49 PM

    1.) It was a medical insurance form. It was silly, we just argued about whether or not I really had it or not. Nothing noteworthy.

    2.) I am there. I am safe. It is pretty. And I did. I shall tell ALL in my next posts; insider: My life nearly ended in numerous ways.

  3. #3 by Melissa on 5 January 2011 - 5:38 PM

    Glad you didn’t die.

    I will send you a travelers check if you send me some freud fingerpuppets 😀

  4. #4 by andersonlondon on 5 January 2011 - 6:44 PM

    I’ll be sure to purchase more than just one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

